The SAHRDN Board

The SAHRDN is made up of the following organs: the General Assembly; the Management Committee (SAHRDN Board); The Management Sub-committees and the Secretariat. The SAHRDN Board is comprised of the Chairperson, the Deputy Chairperson, the Treasurer and 4 other members elected from within members of the Steering Committee. The SAHRDN Board is not remunerated for sitting in the Board as it is a pro bono function.

Kaajal Ramjathan-Keogh (Acting Chairperson).

Kaajal is currently the Executive Director of the Southern Africa Litigation Centre (SALC). She is an expert in the fields of asylum, refugee protection, migration, citizenship and statelessness e rule of law.

She obtained her B.Proc LLB degree from the University of Natal. Previously she worked as Programs Manager at Lawyers for Human Rights (South Africa) (2002- 2014); Southern African regional representative for the International Detention Coalition (IDC) (2008- 2014); Board chairperson of the Consortium for Refugees and Migrants in South Africa (2007-2011).

Timothy Mtambo (Vice Chairperson).

Timothy is currently the Executive Director for the Centre for Human Rights and Rehabilitation (CHRR), Malawi and Chairperson of the Malawi Human Rights Defenders Coalition (MHRDC).

He has over 10 years of experience in programming and managing development, human rights and governance programmes. A holder of a Master’s degree in International Cooperation and Development (Pavia, Italy) a Bachelor of Arts Humanities degree (Malawi), he sits on several boards including the Malawi Sexual and Reproductive Health Rights Alliance, Malawi Human Rights Defender Coalition, Civil Society Network on Transparency and Accountability in Malawi and Co-Chairperson for the National Technical Working Group on LGBTI Rights.

Lucia Da Silveira (Member). 

Lúcia is the Executive Director at the Associacao Justica Paz e Democracia (AJPD) in Luanda, Angola. She completed her LLB degree at Lusiada University. She has over 13 years experience in advocating and defending human rights.

She is very passionate about the rights of women and continues to advocate for women’s rights within the sub-region.

Lepeli Moeketsi (Member). 

Lepeli Moeketsi works as a Human Rights Officer at the Transformation Resource Centre, in Maseru, Lesotho. He completed his LLB degree at the National University of Lesotho and is currently completing his BA Degree in Philosophy at the same university.

He has over five years experience in advocating and defending human rights. 

Roselyn Hanzi (Member Ex-Officio).

Roselyn Hanzi is a highly experienced lawyer from Zimbabwe and currently the Executive Director of Zimbabwe Lawyers for Human Rights. She runs a highly successful and internationally recognized HRDs legal protection programme in Zimbabwe.

ZLHR hosted the Secretariat of the SAHRDN before the decision to institutionalize and by virtue of that sat on the SAHRDN Board on an ex-officio basis.

Pierre Tshibangu (Member).

Pierre is the Executive Director of Droits Humains Sans Frontières est une Association Sans  (Human Rights Without Borders” a Non-Profit Association of Congolese Law created in 1999 by executives from the Universities of Kinshasa, Lubumashi and Mbuji Mayi, women from local communities, Lawyers and Magistrates and other social operators committed to the cause of the dignity of the human person in all its dimensions

The SAHRDN members

The SAHRDN is composed of individuals and non-governmental organisations with a demonstrable record in the promotion and protection of human rights. Its first members were the participants at its 14 and 15 September 2017 in Johannesburg.

The Network’s Network/SAHRDN Stakeholders

The SAHRDN values its critical stakeholders chief among them being the HRDs themselves, the Steering Committee members, the national, regional and international human rights mechanisms, the donor community in particular the OSISA and Ford Foundation who gave the first grants for institutionalization of the SAHRDN and built it as a brand-new organization.

Even though the SAHRDN is an autonomous organization with its own policies, programmes and board, it has close collaboration with likeminded organisations and strategic allies such as the PAHRDN, FrontLine Defenders, LifeLine, Civicus, Amnesty International, the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR-ROSA), the ICJ, Brot Fur die Welt, Civil Rights Defenders,, Diakonia, Malawi Human Rights Defenders Coalition and CDD (Mozambique).


For admission to the membership of the SAHRDN a potential new member applies to the SAHRDN Board that then recommends to the General Assembly for admission of successful candidates who meet a prior determined criterion for admission.